The One That Got Away

 Image

       Sigh…..Who doesn’t think about it from time to time.  You know, the one that got away?  Did you have one?  

      Maybe it was a person.  Maybe they seemed perfect and you didn’t feel you were enough.  Maybe it was all in your head.  Perhaps it ended in disaster or tragedy and no good-byes were said.   Or you weren’t ready yet to be more, so someone else stepped up to the plate. 

      Or maybe it’s not a someone, but a something.  You lost something of value or perhaps it was taken from you.  You were careless and misplaced it and now you can’t get it back.  You weren’t paying attention and now it is gone forever.  You missed a deadline and the opportunity passed.   You let fear stop you, so you’ll never know what you could have had.

       Once you had a dream.  Remember?  What was it that you knew you could do, before doubt entered your mind?  Who slipped out of your life because you were afraid to be more then you were or are?  What is it you would do, if life offered you no resistance?  No doubt, no fear, no shame, no obstacles, no time restraints, no excuses on your part?

     Though you cry, the one thing that doesn’t return to us is time. Time for a do-over has passed.  That’s because sometimes….

Later never comes

      Sometimes the only opportunity for a life changing moment is this this one.  Now!  Right here, right now. 

      Maybe you’re different.  Maybe carpe diem is more than your motto, but your standard operating procedure.  If so, more power to you.   By all means, keep going.   

       Find your passion, your dream, your love and pursue it with all your heart.  Our days may be finite, but the potential for possibilities that lie within us is infinite!

 

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.”
–Thomas A. Edison

“The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.”
–Mark Twain

What would be the use of immortality to a person who cannot use well a half an hour.”
–Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Cowards die many times before their deaths;
The valiant never taste of death but once.”
–William Shakespeare

“May you live all the days of your life.”
–Jonathan Swift

 

      

 

Tags: ,

About Liz Gray

Loves to write! Writes at: http://u2areloved.com (Just a Jesus Girl who is also inspired by the music of U2) http://lizlogic.wordpress.com (Life is complicated; then there's Liz) http://writersreflect.com (This writer's journey; what's your story?)

2 responses to “The One That Got Away”

  1. Edward says :

    LIz, I Have been ther. About three months ago I lost a very dear item that I appreciated above most other posessions I had. Because of a moments in attention I left an item in my haste and when I returned to see if it was still there It was no use. It is gone forever and will never be recovered. I do have another just the same as that one which I purchased within a week of my loss. Owning the new one hasn’t helped me to get over losing the first. I have cried, lain awake at night and thought of that momentary lapse in attention Cost me my prize. I am in a mess over losing this thing and I just feel so empty inside. It feels as if there is a stiff wind blowing inside me when It comes to mind. I sometimes forget to breathe when that wind blows within. I feel so empty!

    • Liz Gray says :

      Oh Ed, I can so relate to this story on a personal level!! I thought I lost (but now realize was stolen) my camera on a family vacation in December. It had over 1200 professional photos (I had rented a FANTASTIC lens). I was bummed for weeks. All my GREAT pics were gone forever! I have since replaced my camera with a really good one and this camera has re-connected me with my passion for photography. But I sooooo feel your pain and am so sorry about your loss! I pray you can FORGIVE yourself and if was stolen, I pray justice will be rendered. Hoping you can find courage to forgive yourself and honor that which you lost by cherishing for that which is new. May the memory of that which was good sustain you! Blessings friend; thanks for reading! Here’s a link to my tale of loss on my other blog (perhaps we just feel too deeply sometimes!) http://u2areloved.com/2013/01/14/slow-fade-confessions-of-a-memory-hoarder/

Leave a Reply

